Risk Management Committee


Mr. Douglas Anderson
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario
Mr. Mike Epp College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia
Mr. Dave Rubel College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba
Dr Yves Robert Collège des médecins du Québec
Ms. Kellie Skelhorn College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia


Ms. Joanna Noble Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC)

Staff Coordinator

Mrs. Sarah C. Paquette Project Manager
Ms. Fleur-Ange Lefebvre Executive Director & CEO

Download the Terms of Reference document in PDF format.

Terms of Reference

To Reporting to the Board of Directors, the Risk Management Committee facilitates the development, dissemination, adoption and evaluation of best medical regulatory practices and operational mechanisms by FMRAC and its members by:

  1. Proposing appropriate strategies, frameworks, structures and policies for best medical regulatory practices and best operational mechanisms.
  2. Regularly reviewing and updating the tools that are specific to the mandate of FMRAC and its members and identify other tools for implementation as appropriate.
  3. Identifying and following up on broad risk management and quality improvement issues for national activity, or activity on behalf of FMRAC and its members.
  4. Recommending actions to address priority issues.
  5. Working towards a national accreditation system for FMRAC members.

The Risk Management Committee will convene at least twice a year. These meetings will take place face to face or via online conferencing.


There are five representatives from the medical regulatory authorities

  • West
  • Ontario
  • Québec
  • East
  • Member-at-large

In addition, Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) representatives and consultants may be invited to join meetings as required